You are here

Conservation and Science Committee

The Conservation and Science Committee is responsible for the development and implementation of a strategic and defensible environment and conservation program to improve the effectiveness of park management.

Lisa Marty (Chair)

Ms Lisa Marty is a Co-chair and Trustee Director of First Super, the industry superannuation fund for the timber, pulp and paper, furniture and joinery industries and was the CEO of the Victorian Association of Forest Industries from 2012 to 2014. She is also a director of Skills Impact, a national skills services organisation which supports industry references committees to develop industry competency skills standards and qualifications for use by industry and the VET sector.

Helen Weston

Ms Helen Weston is the Chair of the Working Heritage Inc Committee of Management, which conserves heritage properties located on public land for community and commercial use. She has also been a director of an environmental planning firm for the past 25 years and is a Fellow of the Planning Institute of Australia, a Certified Practising Planner, and a member of the Environment Institute of Australia.

Jeff Floyd

Mr Jeff Floyd is an Adjunct Professor in the College of Business at Victoria University. He has had an extensive career as a CEO in park management, tourism and as a director on a large number of boards, including CEO of Tourism Victoria, CEO of Parks Victoria and a Director of the Co-Operative Research Centre in Sustainable Tourism. He is the current Chair of Phillip Island Nature Parks and runs a successful consulting business.

Andrew Grant (external member)

Former Deputy Chair and Director of Parks Victoria. Mr. Grant currently serves as the Managing Director of Tasman Environmental Markets and has an extensive background in natural resource management and business. He is the Chair of the Carbon Market Institute and has executive and board experience with organisations including the Royal Botanic Gardens, Earthwatch, the Cooperative Research Centre for Greenhouse Accounting and the Banksia Environmental Foundation. He served as a Chair of the Port Phillip and Western Port Catchment Management Authority.

Gerry Quinn (external member)

Prof Gerry Quinn is Head of the Warrnambool Campus and Chair in Marine Biology. He has extensive research experience in coastal marine ecology, freshwater ecosystems and the effects of flow change on rivers and wetlands. He has co-authored two books on experimental design and data analysis and monitoring human impacts in aquatic environments. Recent research has been on the effects of humans on the condition of estuaries and developing models for linking coastal environments to nearby land and catchment processes.

Rachel Lowry (external member)

Rachel is the Director of Wildlife Conservation and Science for Zoos Victoria. Rachel believes that working with communities is the only way we will rise to the challenge of securing a sustainable future for all living things. Rachel has developed award-winning programs that have tackled biodiversity conservation issues both locally and globally. In 2010 she was awarded Sustainability Leader of the year by WME within the Government and NGO sector.

She is currently on the board of the Centre for Sustainability Leadership. Rachel has spent the last two years leading Melbourne Zoo’s Don’t Palm us Off campaign seeking mandatory labeling of palm-oil on all food products in an attempt to utilise education as a tool to weaken Australia’s link to the palm oil crisis.