Important message!

Parks affected by fire

Some parks currently have closures due to fire activity.

Read more
You are here

Marine protected areas

Victoria’s marine protected areas include marine national parks and marine sanctuaries that were established in 2002. The marine national parks and sanctuaries are highly protected no take areas which cover approximately 63,000 hectares or 5.3% of Victorian state marine waters.

Other marine protected areas in Victoria are multiple use and allow for some forms of recreational fishing and include marine parks, marine and coastal parks, and a marine reserve.


Barwon Bluff Marine Sanctuary

Beware Reef Marine Sanctuary

Bunurong Marine National Park

Bunurong Marine Park

Cape Howe Marine National Park

Churchill Island Marine National Park

Corner Inlet Marine & Coastal Park

Corner Inlet Marine National Park

Discovery Bay Marine National Park

Eagle Rock Marine Sanctuary

French Island Marine National Park

Jawbone Marine Sanctuary

Marengo Reefs Marine Sanctuary

Merri Marine Sanctuary

Mushroom Reef Marine Sanctuary

Ninety Mile Beach Marine National Park

Nooramunga Marine & Coastal Park

Point Addis Marine National Park

Point Cooke Marine Sanctuary

Point Danger Marine Sanctuary

Point Hicks Marine National Park

Port Phillip Heads Marine National Park

Ricketts Point Marine Sanctuary

Shallow Inlet Marine & Coastal Park

The Arches Marine Sanctuary

Twelve Apostles Marine National Park

Wilsons Promontory Marine National Park

Wilsons Promontory Marine Park

Wilsons Promontory Marine Reserve 

Yaringa Marine National Park