You are here

Home > Get involved > Volunteer > Kookaburra awards

Kookaburra awards

Nominations for the Kookaburra Awards are now closed.
Public voting for the Kookaburra Public Choice Award will open soon. 


Parks Victoria Kookaburra Awards 2016

Held every second year, the Kookaburra Awards seek to:

  • Recognise and honour individuals and groups who have made an outstanding voluntary contribution to the Victorian park system.
  • Raise awareness of the extent and importance of community involvement in the Parks Victoria estate.
  • Encourage community involvement in the future development and conservation and use of the park system.

Award Categories

  • Connecting People to Parks Award
  • Conserving Victoria’s Special Places Award
  • Improving Health Benefits Award
  • Individual Achievement Award
  • Kookaburra Aboriginal Award
  • Young Kookaburra Award
  • Kookaburra Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Kookaburra Multicultural Award

Public Choice Award

Following the nominations, all nominees for the Public Choice Award will be promoted on the Parks Victoria website for public votes. The nominee with the most votes will win the Public Choice Award category and will be celebrated at their respective regional ceremony.

All nominees will be invited to a regional event and receive a letter of congratulations for their nomination.
Award winners will be presented with their award at a regional event.

Official Award Presentation events will be held around International Volunteer Day, 5 December 2016.

How to nominate

Nominations are open and we encourage you to nominate yourself, your group or others:

  1. Review the award categories and key award criteria, select an award category and download the corresponding nomination form below.
  2. Provide a 100 word summary on key achievement and where appropriate, include relevant media posts, letters and photographs.
  3. Provide a brief response (up to 150 words) addressing each selection criteria for the nominated category. 
Nominations for the Kookaburra Awards are now closed.

dandenong-ranges-NP.jpg Click to view the news RSS feed.

Take care in parks this weekend

07 Oct 2016

Visitors enjoying our parks and gardens this weekend are asked to be mindful of their own safety following a severe weather warning issued by the Bureau of Meteorology. The bureau has forecast strong winds followed by rain. Severe weather may force the closure of some parks across Victoria for the…

View all latest news