You are here

Aboriginal Engagement Committee

The role of the Aboriginal Engagement Committee (the Committee) is to provide advice to the Board on strengthening Aboriginal engagement and recognising and promoting cultural heritage values to Parks Victoria and the community.

Graham Atkinson (Chair)

Mr Graham Atkinson is a Board Member of the Federation of Victorian Traditional Owners Corporation and Chair of Barpa Pty Ltd, a joint construction venture. He is the Chairperson of the Dhelkunya Dja Land Management Board, a former Chair of the Dja Dja Wurrung Clans Aboriginal Corporation and is also a director of Djandak Enterprises, which is a subsidiary of Dja Dja Wurrung Clans Aboriginal Corporation. He is also a Board Member of the Judicial Commission of Victoria, a Board Member of the North Central Catchment Management Authority (NCCMA), and a member of the Audit and Risk Management Committee of the NCCMA. He is a director of a social research consulting group, Atkinson Consulting Group.

Annette Vickery

Ms Annette Vickery is an Aboriginal woman from Gunditjmara, in Western Victoria, and lives and works with pride on the land of the people of the Kulin nations.  Ms Vickery is the Deputy CEO of the Victorian Aboriginal Legal Service, is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Managers and a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.  She has extensive experience in the public and private sector, community and stakeholder engagement, organisational capability and capacity building and change management.

Jeff Floyd

Mr Jeff Floyd is an Adjunct Professor in the College of Business at Victoria University. He has had an extensive career as a CEO in park management, tourism and as a director on a large number of boards, including CEO of Tourism Victoria, CEO of Parks Victoria and a Director of the Co-Operative Research Centre in Sustainable Tourism. He is the current Chair of Phillip Island Nature Parks and runs a successful consulting business.

John Pandazopoulos

John currently holds the positions of Chair of Destination Phillip Island Regional Tourism Board, Chair of the Victoria Government’s Visitor Economy Ministerial Advisory Committee and Deputy Chair of William Angliss Institute Australia's specialist Food, Tourism, Hospitality and Events educator.

John is Victoria’s longest continuous serving Tourism, Major Events and Gaming Minister with 28 years’ experience in Public Policy, Government and Governance at International, National, State and Local Government level. He is a former Minister for Multicultural Affairs, Racing, Major Projects and Employment and a former Member of the ‘Cleanevent’ Advisory Board, one of Australia’s largest events businesses at the time. He was a local Councillor and Mayor of the then City of Berwick and Executive of the Municipal Association of Victoria. He was also the former Chair and Deputy Chair of the Victorian Parliament Environment and Natural Resources Committee.

Mick Harding (external member)

Mick Harding is a Taungurung man who is dedicated to protecting and reinvigorating culture within his community. Mick says that “we are the First Peoples of this land and have an ongoing responsibility to keep our culture alive and relevant in our current society. We belong to this land”. He is a current board member of Taungurung Clans Aboriginal Corporation and past chairperson, current chairperson of the Victorian Aboriginal Heritage Council, and previous chairperson of the Right People for Country Steering Committee. Mick is a member of Koorie Heritage Trust Board, and a past member of Native Title Services Victoria/Miriambiak board and the Mt Buller/Mt Stirling Alpine Resorts Management Board.

Marcus Stewart (external member)

Marcus Stewart is a Nira illim bulluk man of the Taungurung Nation. He is a seasoned negotiator and strategist with more than 15 years’ experience in Aboriginal affairs. He has held several senior positions in management and possesses renowned experience across several levels of government. He has assisted in the implementation of a number of strategies and policies through senior roles in State Government and as the CEO of Taungurung Clans Aboriginal Corporation. Mr Stewart is the Chief Executive Officer of Federation of Victorian Traditional Owner Corporations.

Aboriginal Engagement Committee terms of reference